Don Cherry’s downtown Paris funk masterwork produced in 1985 by Ramuntcho Matta and originally released by Barclay in France only, finally gets a worldwide release on Wewantsounds. Features French post-punk muse Elli Medeiros, avant garde poet Brion Gysin and cult Senegalese drummer Abdoulaye Prosper Niang (Xalam), this album is a soundbite of the unique sound of Paris in the early 80s when funk, jazz and new wave were mingling with sounds from Africa, Jamaica and Latin America. Newly Remastered, the album is augmented by a second LP worth of bonus tracks and a deluxe gatefolded sleeve with a new essay by French journalist Jacques Denis (Liberation).

Recorded at the legendary Studio Caroline in Paris, a hotbed for the African diaspora in the 80s, and produced by cult French-Chilean musician and producer Ramuntcho Matta following a few formative years spent in New York (his father is painter Roberto Matta and half-brother is cult New York artist Gordon Matta-Clark), “Home Boy, Sister Out” is one of Don Cherry’s coolest albums. Coming back from New York where Matta had immersed himself in the downtown scene working with the likes of Peter Gordon, Arto Lindsay, The Talking Heads, Meredith Monk and Laurie Anderson, he crossed path with the American trumpet player in Paris by chance. it was love at first sight and together they had the idea of an album where Cherry would not only play but also sing. Accompanied by a first class cast of musicians from the Paris scene, they recorded Home Boy, Sister Out in Spring 1985


Very little known outside of France where it has achieved cult status in some circles, the album embodies the spirit of the “Sono Mondiale”, the multi-ethnic sound of 80’s Paris, pioneered by Radio Nova and Celluloid Records. Featuring legendary Senegalese drummer, Abdoulaye Prosper Niang (Xalam), Negrito Trasante, Elli Medeiros, Jannick Top and Don Cherry on various instruments plus vocals, the album is a fascinating mix of Downtown New York Funk, Jazz, New Wave, Reggae and African music. The release also includes a handful of bonus tracks taken from Ramuntcho Matta’s vaults including the cult 1983 single “Kick” featuring legendary multi artist Brion Gysin. All these make it a fascinating album to listen to.


  • S1
  1. Call Me
  2. Treat Your Lady Right
  3. Butterfly Friend
  4. I Walk
  • S2
  1. Art Deco
  2. Rappin’ Recipe
  3. Reggae To The High Tower
  4. Alphabet City
  • S3
  1. Bamako Love
  2. Kick (single version)*
  3. Rappin’ Recipe (Instrumental)*
  • S4
  1. S4
  2. Benoego*
  3. Initiation (Demo)*
  4. Treat Your Lady Right (Bim Bam Bom)*

*Bonus Track